5 Great Japanese Worship Songs

Since coming to Japan, I’ve visited many different churches, and seen many different service and worship styles. Even though there are a lot fewer Christians in Japan than in the US, there are quite a few Japanese contemporary worship songs. The hard part is finding good-quality recordings of them to listen to outside of church.

So, for my 200th post (!!!), I thought I’d share five worship songs that I like. Four of them I’ve actually heard, either at church or a worship gathering, and one I found on YouTube all by myself. I’m not including hymns here, or Japanese translations of English songs. I’m on the lookout for original Japanese songs that are more recent.

1. 慕い求めます (Shitai motomemasu, “I yearn for/seek You”)

This is one of my favorites!

2. その日全世界が (Sono hi zen sekai ga, “On that day, the whole world will…”)

I’ve heard this in church a few times. It sounds calm when you have one person singing like this, but it’s powerful when sung in a large group.

3. 花も (Hana mo, “And the flowers”) – also sung by Denta.

We sang this one at church, too! By the way, I’ve talked to someone here who knows him. (My claim to fame…?)

4. 変えられたソング (Kaerareta Song、”Song of the Changed”)

I rediscovered this song recently when making this list! We sang it at a youth event in Hiroshima. I didn’t remember it, but I remember that singing upbeat, faster praise songs in Japanese was a lot of fun!

5. Grateful – Lifehouse Music. (Bilingual)

This is the one I found on my own. I’ve never heard it sung at a church, probably because it was produced uniquely by Lifehouse Tokyo. Because of that, I don’t think most people outside that church know about it, unless they found it online like I did. I haven’t found many on YouTube that were actually recorded in a studio like this. I would be happy to see more like it :)

If you enjoyed any of these songs, let me know in the comments which one was your favorite, or if you have a favorite that’s not on this list!

11 thoughts on “5 Great Japanese Worship Songs

  1. I enjoyed the last mainly because I could understand the message since it was sung in both English and Japanese. The message was wonderful. May I be more grateful to Him for what He has done for us.

  2. Thank you for this lovely recommendations~ my Japanese sister in faith sent me your article so I could discover worship music from JP💕💕
    I’m Israeli messianic Jew and I absolutely love the videos you shared! Thank you and have a blessed day:)

    1. Wow, thank you so much for your message! I’m so glad you enjoyed the videos! It’s so amazing to hear that people around the world are getting to listen to Japanese worship music (^_^) Thank YOU for the encouragement^^

  3. Thank you so much for writing this blog. My family and I often sing to these worship songs at our church in Kyoto and find its meaning to be so powerful. We love them all. There is also another song, one that touches our heart deeply and reminds us of our Lord Jesus’s work on the cross, and that is “父の涙”. Thank you again for your wonderful effort, praise be His Mighty Name for always!

  4. Hi there, my name is Karen and I’m currently looking for a Japanese Christmas song that we can sing in Church that Japanese Christians will be familar. The problem is that most of the Japanese songs that I’ve researched tend to be very secular e.g. blue christmas, white christmas, Santa clause, etc. Would you know any original Japanese Christmas songs that Japanese Christians will all know? Please contact me?

    1. Hi Karen! I’m sorry it took so long to respond to your message. I saw it and I asked a friend of mine who is very knowledgeable about Japanese worship songs, but there are very few original, Christian Japanese Christmas songs (or at least very few recorded ones that can be shared via YouTube or other services).

      I think your best bet is to search traditional Christmas hymns (Silent Night, etc.) with the Japanese lyrics. My impression is that Japanese churches tend to sing these at Christmas time, and the lyrics should be available online.

      For example, Kenta Dedachi did an English/Japanese cover of “Away in a Manger” (飼い葉の桶で / Kaiba no oke de) here:

      Japanese lyrics here: http://bluegrass.exblog.jp/2845912/

      He also did “Angels We Have Heard on High” (荒野の果てに / Arano no hate ni):

      Japanese lyrics here: http://www5b.biglobe.ne.jp/~chfujimi/106-iris-koji.htm

      You probably have your Christmas program decided by now, but I’m sure the members of the congregation have favorites that they like to sing! I would ask them. Most of the original Japanese Christmas songs I’ve found have been secular, too. I’m sorry I couldn’t be more help–I was hoping to discover some new songs, as well. Good luck!!

  5. These are wonderful! So glad to hear that the message of Christ’s love is being spread through out Japan. I’m looking for a recording of the traditional hymn “Great is Thy Faithfulness” in Japanese. I’ve found one on YouTube but the quality is poor. My son is getting married in Japan and would like it for his wedding. Can you think of how something like this can be found?

    1. Hi Maggie! Thanks for your question. It looks like the Japanese version of “Great is Thy Faithfulness” is 「主のまことはくしきかな」(Shu no makoto wa kushiki kana). If you show the title to the pastor/priest, or someone who’s part of the ceremony, they might have the music on hand somewhere already.

      I don’t know where to find a good-quality background track with the words in it, but one option could be to play a piano background track and sing the song in Japanese together as a congregation. The Japanese and romaji (English) lyrics are here: http://www.hymnalaccompanist.com/japanese/jap29.html

      I found two versions for reference on how to sing it–one that’s really pretty, and one that’s easier to hear:

      Pretty:

      Clear:

      I hope that helps a little! I wish your son the best for his wedding :)

Leave a comment