Meguro River Cherry Blossoms (Tokyo)

The Meguro River is the #1 cherry blossom viewing spot in Tokyo. As you might expect, it’s really crowded, but it’s popular for a reason.

This is the river that my mom and dad saw when they visited Japan for the first time in 2013. I wasn’t there, because we met up in Kyoto later (Kyoto cherry blossom pictures here &  here), but I helped recommend this place. If you’re looking to visit Tokyo during cherry blossom season and don’t know where to start, here is a great list written by Gail Nakada (Huffington Post); my parents referred to it, and they enjoyed all the places they went.

My mom passed away in a car accident in 2014, a year after seeing these cherry blossoms, so this was my first time to see what she and my dad saw. Since they planned their trip a bit early, they weren’t supposed to be able to see many cherry blossoms in Tokyo, but 2013 was a warm year and they bloomed two weeks early, so my parents got to see them in full bloom. Not only that, but because their timing was off from the expected cherry blossom season, they said there weren’t that many people, either. I’m so thankful that my parents got to see me in Japan before the accident happened, and see the cherry blossoms in full bloom.

They took this picture together:

My mom and dad by the Meguro River (Mar. 23, 2013).
My mom and dad by the Meguro River (Mar. 23, 2013).

My dad says that he likes bridges, and so every time they came to a bridge crossing the Meguro River (which is often) he wanted to go over it, getting on my mom’s nerves (haha), since ultimately the view doesn’t change that much. I had that experience too. The cherry blossom trees go on and on–I walked from Nakameguro all the way to Shibuya, and was outside for a couple of hours. In some ways, it’s like the Grand Canyon–it’s huge and expansive, and even if you walk for a long time you still feel like you’re taking the same picture over and over again. There were so many people when I went that I just had to laugh, but it was beautiful.

I miss you, Mom, and I know you would love all the memories these pictures would bring back. I’m so thankful that you got to see the cherry blossoms and enjoy Tokyo, and that you got to see what your daughter’s life was like in Japan after hearing me talk about it for so many years. I’m also glad that you got to hear me using Japanese, since I didn’t really speak it at home (since no one would understand, haha). Thank you for always reading my blog and enjoying my pictures. I love you. –Stephanie

Vivaldi, “Four Seasons”

7 thoughts on “Meguro River Cherry Blossoms (Tokyo)

  1. What a lovely tribute to your mom. Remembering that your parents (together) got to see you and your Japan is such a happy memory. I’m glad you, too, got to see the same blossoms. Just yesterday she came up when we were telling a friend about Jil’s birth….your mom and Joel will always be part of that story. Love you! Thank you for this post!

  2. Seems like it was yesterday, and a lifetime ago. So glad we visited. We had a great time. Your mom and I were so proud of you making your way. I love you.

Leave a Reply

