4 Iwakuni Kintaikyo Cafes

All accessible by walking from the bus stop in front of the Kintai Bridge.

IMG_0890-3

After meeting up with a friend of mine who just got back from Hawaii, I got dropped off in Iwakuni near the Kintai Bridge and went on a little walking tour. I found a few cafes that I think would be nice to visit with a friend (I haven’t been to any of them yet). I thought I’d put them in a list here, and anyone who’s interested can use it as a reference if they’re in the area and looking for a place to go.

These places all probably have Japanese sweets to try, and possibly no English menu. These kinds of cafes can be a little expensive and the sweets small, but I do it for the experience :) They’re in order of most wanting to go to least wanting to go, so you have almost no motivation to read to the end, haha.

1. 光風道 (Kofudou)

I want to go to this one the most!! It reminds me of the cafes in Hagi (on the other side of Yamaguchi Prefecture), which were in old Japanese houses.

Facebookhttps://www.facebook.com/kofudou
Hours: 9:30-17:00, closed Mondays
Address: 2 Chome-4-26 Yokoyama, Iwakuni, Yamaguchi Prefecture 741-0081

IMG_0915-2

2. ガーデンカフェ 露蓮 -はちすのつゆ- (Garden Hachisu-no-Tsuyu)

I’m just so curious to see the inside…

Official Websitehttp://www.tanso-an.jp/index1.html
Hours: 11:00-16:00, closed on Wednesdays
Address: 2 Chome-4-1 Yokoyama, Iwakuni, Yamaguchi Prefecture

If you cross the Kintai Bridge and walk straight toward the place with 100 varieties of ice cream, this place is on your right.

IMG_0891

3. 錦帯茶屋 (Kintai Chaya)

This one’s just on the list because it’s on the second floor and looks like it has a nice view of the Kintai Bridge. There’s a souvenir shop inside, too.

Official Websitehttp://www.tenboichiba.com/
Hours: 9:30-17:00 (Sept.-Mar.), 9:30-18:00 (Apr.-Aug.)
Address: Yamaguchi Prefecture, Iwakuni, 1 Chome−1−42, 錦帯橋バスセンター2階 (Kintai Bus Center 2F)

IMG_0927

4. しろやま喫茶室 (Shiroyama Kissashitsu)

This one is at the bottom of my list, but I almost always see it when I walk around the Kintai area, so why not.

Pictureshttp://tabelog.com/yamaguchi/A3506/A350601/35001099/
Hours: 10:00-18:00 November-February, and 10:00-17:00 for the rest of the year. (never closed)
Address: 2 Chome-4-23 Yokoyama, Iwakuni, Yamaguchi Prefecture 741-0081

IMG_0912
The actual cafe looked cute, but this is the only picture I’ve got.

 

The Nutcracker, “Marche” (It’s cold enough to still be Christmas here.)

2 thoughts on “4 Iwakuni Kintaikyo Cafes

  1. I doubt I will be getting to Japan any time soon, but I hope you will be able to enjoy 1-2 of these cafes with family or friends.

Leave a Reply

