Afternoon Roses

Every May, Waki Town holds a huge Rose Festival event up on the hill (Hachigamine), and lots of people from Waki, Iwakuni, the base, and all over come to enjoy music, dance performances, a flea market, and some other attractions.

…but actually, I came with my friends around three, and the festival was mostly over, so we just enjoyed the rose garden for a while. Here are some pictures of the roses!

IMG_6314

These bell-shaped flowers roses were so cool!

IMG_6315

I love the way this white one looks. It looks soft and delicate, like the apple blossoms I saw earlier this year.

IMG_6316

There were roses in all sorts of colors, but I think the rain had washed away some of the petals from certain color roses, so I think that’s why most of my pictures of pink flowers turned out better.

IMG_6325

It could just be that I’m partial to the pink ones, though ;)

IMG_6332

IMG_3686

IMG_6343

IMG_6323

An overview of the garden:

IMG_6294

At the front, there was a stand selling different types of honey (Such as mikan honey), which also had honeycomb for sale. I hadn’t ever had a “block” of honeycomb just like that, and it was really fun to eat! My friend says it has a lot of nutrients, too. The honey part tastes great, but then you’re left chewing for a while on the stronger stuff that holds the honeycomb together. (You’re supposed to eat that part too, right? I did.)

IMG_3693

Cory Asbury, “Jesus, All for Jesus”

2 thoughts on “Afternoon Roses

Leave a Reply

