Iwakuni Countryside in the Fall

Iwakuni is the city/area south of Waki. It’s the second station you come to as you travel south on the Sanyo Line (train) as you leave Hiroshima Prefecture, and according to its website, has around 140,000 people (I don’t know if that includes the US marine base). For comparison, Waki has about 6,000.

I go to Iwakuni all the time to buy supplies at Daiso and go to church, but because I’m almost always walking, I usually only see the city areas near the station. Sometimes, I forget that there’s countryside in Iwakuni at all.

IMG_2653-2
Iwakuni countryside.

This weekend, my friend and I headed over to Jakuchikyo (Seven Falls), and I got to have a glimpse of the rest of Iwakuni.

IMG_2670-2
Reminds me of Guerneville, CA…

As you can see, even though I titled this post “in the fall,” the fall colors in much of this part of Yamaguchi can be limited.

IMG_2689-2

I didn’t know this, but apparently there’s a train line called the Nishikigawa Seiryu Line that runs along the Nishiki River. It’s only in Iwakuni. I might just hop on the train from Iwakuni Station someday, ride it to the end, and then ride it back, just to enjoy the scenery.

IMG_2692-2

There were spurts of color here and there along the way, although I had to pay close attention and rush to catch them.

IMG_2695-2
Found one!

IMG_2699-2

IMG_2727-2

Iwakuni also has one of those freaky tall bridges that I remember seeing in Shikoku. Is it just where I’m from in California that doesn’t have super-high bridges over land (as opposed to water)? Do we have them, and I just wasn’t paying attention?

IMG_2737-2

Our hour and a half drive from Iwakuni Station to Seven Falls helped remind me that it’s fall and that there’s a bigger world outside of Iwakuni Station. :) It was peaceful and quaint.

7 thoughts on “Iwakuni Countryside in the Fall

  1. Yes, it does resemble Guernville. Taking the train that runs along the river sounds inviting as well. I hope you will have the opportunity some time.

    1. I want to try! I’m not sure if it’ll look that special in the winter, since it doesn’t really snow here, but it’d allow me to see the winter scenery from a warm train car, so it might be worth it to try.

  2. I went to Iwakuni on my trip to Japan last month to see the Kintaikyo bridge. I wish I could’ve seen more of the city so I’m really glad you posted these pictures.

Leave a Reply

