Eastern Kyoto: Into the Totoro Cave

Ha, I’m sure that’s not what it’s actually called. But this is the store I spotted on our way up to Kiyomizu-dera in East Kyoto (Day 2, 3.27). It wasn’t even directly on the main street–I saw a Totoro, and then I saw an arrow, and I was off like that.

IMG_6183
All the way up until the door is still technically outside. I wonder how many shops my parents went and saw while I was in here…

I don’t think this was even the first Totoro we spotted–but good enough.

IMG_6184

This is a Ghibli store selling merchandise for all the movies from that company, of which Totoro is one. I think most Americans don’t know about it because Ghibli only really got famous after Spirited Away won that award, and after that, subsequent Ghibli movies were publicized as well, and put on television (Howl’s Moving Castle, Ponyo, Arietty). It’s hard to be into anime without knowing this movie, but to be honest, I didn’t even like it that much when I saw it (which I think was only once). However, when I see Totoro goods, I always want to buy them because Totoro is so cute :3 My new Ghibli calendar is turned to the Totoro-standing-in-the-rain page right now, too.

It’s not really that big of a store, but everything it has is really cute and can even be useful–Totoro clocks, towels, calendars, origami paper, notebooks, folders, pencil cases, and lots, lots more. If you’re in Kyoto and end up going to Kiyomizu-dera, you should look for this store!

IMG_6186
It’s probably a good thing that this store is far away from me, haha.

Leave a Reply

