Merchandising

Getting a new bank account has never been so much fun!

Left to right, going clockwise: small face towel, 3-folder set, a couple pamphlets, my bank book (Sazae-san themed), Chokingyo memo, bendable plastic case for bank book (I think), and another informational paper

I went to set up a new bank account recently. The mascot of this bank appears to be the chokingyo. I LOVE the chokingyo. “Chokin” (Choh-keen) in Japanese means “bank savings” and “kingyo” (keen-gyoh) means goldfish, so…it’s the savings goldfish. When T-san from the office saw that I liked her chokingo fan, she brought one in for me!^^

This is…a fan with a watermelon that is being eaten by a goldfish as advertisement for a bank. Many stores and businesses give out fans as part of their promotions, but still, this one is pretty special haha. I hung it up in my hallway next to my Disney one (which advertises for DeoDeo, an electronics store)

The Disney fan.

It’s a fan within a fan…a metafan?

Just see if you make it through a summer in Japan without getting handed a fan of some kind…the fan on the right is from Softbank, a Japanese cell phone company, and the smaller one on the left was being given out at Miyajima.

Advertising in Japan is fun! I now have the first two fans on my wall, with a couple to spare. I have folders to put my papers in, and a new notepad^^

3 thoughts on “Merchandising

  1. Is it difficult opening an account in Japan? Do you have to speak Japanese (well, a little, etc) or do you have people who speak English to help?

    1. Well, in my case, I went with someone from the board of education office to set up my post office bank account and regular bank account (same with my cell phone). If they have English pamphlets and guide books, they’ll give them to you instead of the Japanese equivalents. (It might happen, as was the case when we went to go get my cell phone, they hand you the English papers and then can’t read them when they’re trying to explain the terms to you in Japanese, haha.) For things like cell phones and banks, yes, I think it’s just better to go with a Japanese speaker. I think the websites have English translations of the terms if you want to go through them yourself.

Leave a Reply

